The hotel building has been sympathetically converted from its former use as a Police Station and more recently council offices and the Derbyshire Police Museum. Here is a brief timeline of 16 St Mary's Gate:
- Number 16 St. Mary's Gate was built in 1894-5 for the newly established Derbyshire County Council.
- The building was designed in 1893 by John Somes Story of Derby, the County's architect.
- It was intended as administrative offices and a police station. the latter being situated at the rear, approached from Walker Lane.
- The building was opened in 1895.
- A further, free standing, addition for the Weights & Measures Department was built 1895-96.
- In 1954 it was adapted as education offices on lease to Derby Borough.
- In 1974 it continued in this role under the aegis of the County Council
- In 1996 it was taken over by the Derbyshire Police and administrative offices and as a police museum.
- The plans still exist in the Derby Local Studies Library.
- The Finesse Collection bought the building in 2006 and spent 2 years converting it in to Cathedral Quarter Hotel which opened in May 2008.
Many original features remain and have been enhanced and celebrated in the redesign. The grand foyer has been painstakingly restored with specialists working on the original mosaic floor and the Scaglioli marble pillars and staircase. Now with a specially commissioned Scagliola reception desk, the latest design of Romo fabric furniture and a stunning 1st edition two piece bespoke 'Whitehurst' clock designed especially for the development by Smith of Derby, it most definitely has the wow factor!
Other original features have been maintained including the bank-vault which now houses a chilled wine cellar with guest viewing window and tasting table.